So that we may continue to innovate and provide you with world class products, we occasionally must remove or replace old versions. We try to reduce the impact and expense to you by providing lots of advance notice and technical details on how you can most easily migrate to the latest version. Old products are first deprecated and then retired.
Deprecation means the old product will be available for a limited amount of time. This can occur for a variety of reasons such as the product runs on aging infrastructure, the upstream data is being discontinued, et cetera. The Service Level Agreement no longer applies to a deprecated product. However, we will make our best effort to keep the old product running while you migrate to the latest version. You will likely incur some engineering migration costs but we make every effort to keep these to a minimum.
Retirement means that we announce a date when we will permanently shut off the old product. We give plenty of advance notice, technical details, and will remind you several times. In almost all cases, we will offer an improved new version with enhanced features.